Activists Gather:  Support, Food, Laughter

Posted by on Feb 29, 2016 in Announcements, Tikkun Olam | No Comments

by  Laura Finkler & Bill Lazarus

ACTIVISTS GATHERING

More than twenty activists, including many members of Kehilla’s Economic Justice Committee (“EJC”), met at the home of Laura Finkler and Larry Walter on January 31, 2016, following a similar gathering held last June. The occasion was largely a social event, mixed with quick presentations of projects in which folks are involved. The hope was to strengthen relationships among activists and to spur further involvement.

With that continued hope, the following is a partial list of Kehilla activists who participated. Most spoke of more than one involvement, but a single issue is selected in the hope that this will help spur further discussion. Feel free to contact anyone on this list if you want more information.  For contact information, you can email sasha@kehillasynagogue.org or check the Membership Roster in the Members Only section of the website.

Mandy Bratt – Oakland Community Organizations (OCO)

Karen Rachels –  Income Inequality

Richard Speiglman – East Bay Housing Organizations

Roberta Stern –  Working with veterans via the American Friends Service Committee to educate high school students about the realities of war

Tree Gelb Stuber –  National Association for Mental Health; Alameda County Food Bank; Jewish Family and Children’s Services

Lisa Saxe – Affordable housing

Sharon Lebenkoff –  Jewish Voice for Peace

Norma Smith  – East Bay Interfaith Immigration Coalition

Julie Litwin – Refugee accompaniment teams

Lea Delsen –  Interfaith Trio – interfaith work with Muslims and Christians

Alex Madonik – Anti-death penalty work

Sue Goldberg – Proposition 13 tax reform and other tax measures, Economic Justice Committee member

Bill Lazarus – Protecting California eucalyptus in the East Bay Hills

Laura Finkler – Work of the Economic Justice Committee

Nikki Sachs – Palestine/Israel issues

Rochelle Towers – Racial justice

Anna Couey – Domestic workers bill of rights

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

More than twenty activists, including many members of Kehilla’s Economic Justice Committee (“EJC”), met at the home of Laura Finkler and Larry Walter on January 31, 2016, following a similar gathering held last June. The occasion was largely a social event, mixed with quick presentations of projects in which folks are involved. The hope was to strengthen relationships among activists and to spur further involvement.

With that continued hope, the following is a partial list of Kehilla activists who participated. Most spoke of more than one involvement, but a single issue is selected in the hope that this will help spur further discussion. Feel free to contact anyone on this list if you want more information.

Mandy Bratt – mandybratt2002@aol.com  … Oakland Community Organizations (OCO)

Karen Rachels – karenrachels@gmail.com …  Income Inequality

Richard Speiglman – rspeiglman@sbcglobal.net … East Bay Housing Organizations

Roberta Stern – rozydeco50@hotmail.com  … Working with veterans via the American Friends Service Committee to educate high school students about the realities of war

 

 

 

 

Tree Gelb Stuber – tgelb1@aol.com  … National Association for Mental Health; Alameda County Food Bank; Jewish Family and Children’s Services

Lisa Saxe – lisa_saxe@yahoo.com  … Affordable housing

Sharon Lebenkoff – sharon.lebenkoff@gmail.com  … Jewish Voice for Peace

Norma Smith  – nsmith@igc.org  …East Bay Interfaith Immigration Coalition.

Julie Litwin – jblitwin@yahoo.com  … Refugee accompaniment teams

Lea Delsen – lea@delsenphoto.com … Interfaith Trio – interfaith work with Muslims and Christians

Alex Madonik – alexmadonik@sonic.net  … Death penalty

Sue Goldberg – suegoldberg@sbcglobal.net  … Prop 13 tax reform and other tax measures, EJC member

Bill Lazarus – wjlazarus@gmail.com  … Protecting California eucalyptus in the East Bay Hills

Laura Finkler – larryandlaura@comcast.net   … Work of the EJC

Nikki Sachs – nikkisachs@gmail.com  … Palestine/Israel issues

Rochelle Towers – rtwellness@hotmail.com  …Racial Justice

Anna Couey – couey@well.com … Domestic workers bill of rights

 

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.